Lightspeed Restaurant and Live Hospitality POS side by side: published prices, registers, support, setup, payments and staff tools, with the source for every figure.
Prices checked 27 Sep 2026 from each company’s Australian pricing page. See sources
What’s the main difference between Live and Lightspeed?
Lightspeed Restaurant is priced per plan with one register included and extra registers and modules as add-ons, while Live includes up to 4 registers in Standard and keeps your own EFTPOS.
Lightspeed lists Starter at $79, Essential at $179 and Premium at $359 a month (GST not stated). Live is $41, $80 or $125 per venue a month billed yearly, or $49, $95 or $149 billed monthly, including GST, with free setup and 24/7 support on every plan.
Price at a glance
What does each cost?
Live’s prices include GST. Where a competitor’s page doesn’t say whether GST is included, we show the price as published and mark it “GST not stated”.
Published prices, checked 27 Sep 2026
Topic
Live Hospitality POS
Lightspeed
Entry plan
Floor: $41 a month per venue, billed yearly ($490 a year), or $49 billed monthly. GST included
Starter: $79 a month, 1 register (GST not stated)
Middle plan
Standard: $80 a month, billed yearly ($950 a year), or $95 billed monthly. GST included
Essential: $179 a month, 1 register (GST not stated)
Top plan
Multi-venue: $125 per venue a month, billed yearly ($1,490 a year), or $149 billed monthly. GST included
Premium: $359 a month, 1 register (GST not stated)
Yearly billing
2 months free: $490, $950 or $1,490 per venue a year
Not stated
Extra registers
Floor 1, Standard up to 4 at one venue, Multi-venue per venue
+$39 a month per additional register
Card processing
Keep your own EFTPOS: Tyro, Zeller, Square or your bank’s, at your provider’s rates
Integrated payments on all plans; rates not stated on the pricing page
Minimum term
No minimum term: monthly plans run month to month
Not stated
Hardware
Use your own tablets, computers and receipt printer
Hardware is an extra cost; works on a range of devices
Setup
Free full setup by our team
The Service Team checks in, and an in-person Lightspeed specialist is available; setup cost not stated
If Lightspeed’s prices exclude GST, as a 2024 review reported, they would be $86.90, $196.90 and $394.90 a month including GST. See sources.
Features
How do the features compare?
Live’s column covers confirmed Live features. Lightspeed’s column uses only what its pricing page says; anything it doesn’t mention is marked “Not stated”.
Features, from published pages checked 27 Sep 2026
Topic
Live Hospitality POS
Lightspeed
Support
24/7 by phone and chat inside the app, on every plan
24/7 support by live chat, phone and email, on all plans
Rostering and timesheets
Roster, clock on at the till, timesheets and payroll CSV (Standard and Multi-venue)
Not stated
Membership and loyalty
Your own tiers, automatic tier rules and tier discounts (Standard)
Loyalty on all plans
Happy hour
Automatic, with four offer types including buy one get one free (Standard)
Not stated
Inventory
Stock in ml, grams or pieces, recipes and stocktakes (Standard)
Inventory reporting on all plans. Lightspeed Inventory +$99 a month on Starter, included on Essential and Premium
Tabs
Named tabs (Standard)
Bar mode, with tabs and card pre-authorisation, on all plans
Split bills
Split by people or items, and combine tables, on every plan
Bill splitting and pay at the table on all plans
Which suits you
Is Lightspeed or Live the better fit for your venue?
Each is built for a different kind of venue. Here’s how to decide.
Lightspeed may suit you if
You want offline mode, bar mode and pay at the table on every plan, as Lightspeed’s page lists
You want add-ons such as reservations, online ordering (Order Anywhere) or raw API access
You’d like an in-person specialist
You want kitchen display screens, listed at +$40 a month per screen
Live may suit you if
You want up to 4 registers included in Standard, from $80 a month, billed yearly
You want prices that include GST, set out on one page
You want to keep your own EFTPOS provider
You want rostering and happy hour in the same system as your sales
Switching
How do I switch from Lightspeed to Live?
Four steps, and we do most of the work.
Send us your menu
Upload your current menu with the demo form, or send it after your demo.
We build your venue
Menu, categories, options and modifiers, plus your floor plan and tables, all free.
Keep your EFTPOS
Live doesn’t need its own payments. Use Tyro, Zeller, Square or your bank’s EFTPOS, and card takings reconcile at till close.
Start trading
We roll Live out on your tablets and computers, connect your printer, and your team takes its first order.
FAQ
Live vs Lightspeed: questions, answered
Do Lightspeed’s prices include GST?
Lightspeed’s pricing page doesn’t say. A 2024 review described its Australian prices as excluding GST; if that still applies, the plans would be $86.90, $196.90 and $394.90 a month including GST. Live’s prices always include GST.
How many registers does each include?
Each Lightspeed plan lists 1 register, with additional registers at $39 a month. Live’s Floor plan includes 1 register, Standard up to 4 at one venue, and Multi-venue is priced per venue.
Does Lightspeed include rostering?
Rostering isn’t listed on Lightspeed’s restaurant pricing page. Live includes roster, timesheets and payroll CSV from Standard, at $80 a month billed yearly ($95 billed monthly).
When were these prices checked?
On 27 Sep 2026, from Lightspeed’s Australian restaurant pricing page. Lightspeed notes that prices may vary depending on the nature of the business and the industry.
Where do these facts come from?
From each company’s own Australian pricing page, checked on 27 Sep 2026. Prices and features change, so check the source before you decide.
Lightspeed Restaurant pricing (Australia), checked 27 Sep 2026. The page doesn’t say whether prices include GST, and notes that prices may vary depending on the nature of the business and the industry.
Square, Lightspeed and Toast are trademarks of their respective owners. Live Hospitality POS and Plain Sense Consulting are not affiliated with, endorsed by or sponsored by any of them. Live Hospitality POS prices are from our pricing page.